William S. Hart Union High School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Hart District Teachers of the Year Honored by Governing Board

The District Teacher of the Year is Laurel Priesz, an English teacher at Canyon High School. Laurel is now one of 16 teachers being considered for the Los Angeles County Teacher of the Year.
The entire list of Hart School District Teachers of the Year honored Wednesday night were:

Mike Koegle, Biology, Academy of the Canyons
Kelvin Flores, Band/Music, Arroyo Seco Junior High School
Christine Desuse, English/Theater, Bowman High School
Laurel Priesz, English, Canyon High School
Yara Wright, English as a Second Language, Golden Oak Adult School
Shanna Mann, Social Studies, Golden Valley High School
Kathryn Smith, Science, Hart High School
Kamalinphol Punpanichgul, Mathematics, La Mesa Junior High School
Bree Hammer, English, Placerita Junior High School
Aubrie Fairbanks, Special Education, Rancho Pico Junior High School
Stephanie Sosa, English, Rio Norte Junior High School
Wendy Noonan, English, Saugus High School
Brandy Abernathy, Special Education/History, Sequoia School
David Drabinski, History/Electives, Sierra Vista Junior High School
Tamara Desso, Science, Valencia High School
Terri Sage, Health/Yearbook, West Ranch High School
Selection criteria included personal growth, commitment, personal attributes and professional skills.
The California Teacher of the Year program, which began in 1972, has brought recognition to exemplary teachers, paying tribute to their resolute efforts. With the District’s many outstanding teachers, the staff takes pride in identifying and honoring its own heroes of Hart District classrooms.
Published Print