William S. Hart Union High School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Hart District Teachers of the Year Honored by Governing Board

The District Teacher of the Year is Erica Hardbarger, a science teacher from Hart High School who was transferred before the start of the school year to the District Office as the science teacher on special assignment (TOSA).  The Los Angeles County Office of Education honored Erica on September 14, 2018, as one of 60 Teachers of the Year in the county. 


The Hart School District Teachers of the Year honored Wednesday night were:

Wayne Shapiro, English, Academy of the Canyons

Rebekah West, Choir/Drama, Arroyo Seco

Stacey Killinger, Government/Psychology, Bowman

Dennis Young, AP Environmental Science/Biology, Canyon

Marianella Lora, English as Second Language, Golden Oak Adult School

Eric Harris, History, Golden Valley

Erica Hardbarger, Biology/AP Biology, Hart

Jennifer Putt, English, La Mesa

Eric Olsson, Physical Education, Placerita

Kristine Spector, Science, Rancho Pico

Melinda Moore, Culinary Arts, Rio Norte

B.J. Layton, Mathematics, Saugus

Andrew Rashkin, Special Education/Science, Sequoia

Nicole Terranova, Science, Sierra Vista

Sarah E. Ford. English/EL, Valencia

Darcy Rojas, Social Studies, West Ranch


Selection criteria included personal growth, commitment, personal attributes and professional skills.

The California Teacher of the Year program, which began in 1972, has brought recognition to exemplary teachers, paying tribute to their resolute efforts. With the District’s many outstanding teachers, the staff takes pride in identifying and honoring its own heroes of Hart District classrooms.

Published Print