Hart District Teachers of the Year Honored by Governing Board

The District Teacher of the Year is Jim Klipfel, a Social Studies teacher at Saugus High School. Mr. Klipfel is now nominated for the Los Angeles County Teacher of the Year.
The entire list of Hart School District Teachers of the Year honored Wednesday night were:
Dustin Funk, Academy of the Canyons
Lisa Simmons, Arroyo Seco Junior High School
Shonna August, Bowman High School
Dan Davis, Canyon High School
Heather Kennedy, Castaic High School
Richard Gutierrez, Golden Oak Adult School
Courtney Straka, Golden Valley High School
Cynthia Ross, Hart High School
Jenni Frias, Las Mesa Junior High School
Lauren Sperber, Placerita Junior High School
Devon Hensley, Rancho Pico Junior High School
Leanne Bonilla, Rio Norte Junior High School
Jim Klipfel, Saugus High School
Fidel Garcia, Sequoia School
Mary Sirchia, Sierra Vista Junior High School
Christine Mocha, Valencia High School
Alison Hunsaker, West Ranch High School
“During this extraordinary time, I am so very proud of the EXTRAordinary work being accomplished by the teachers of the Hart District,” said Hart District Superintendent Mike Kuhlman. “The 17 recognized by the Board Wednesday night deserve to be commended for the creative ways they are overcoming the challenges of online instruction to connect with students. Thank you all for setting the example of persistence and positivity!”
Selection criteria included personal growth, commitment, personal attributes and professional skills.
The California Teacher of the Year program, which began in 1972, has brought recognition to exemplary teachers, paying tribute to their resolute efforts. With the District’s many outstanding teachers, the staff takes pride in identifying and honoring its own heroes of Hart District classrooms.